Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Debut Author Challenge 2013

I will be participating in the Debut Author Challenge for 2013. You can find this challenge here.

This challenge consists of reading and reviewing books in the YA genre that are written by Debut YA authors. I must read and review at least 12 to complete this goal. I already have a running list of the first twelve I will read and review and these are:

ReaperPower (The Descendant Trilogy #1)Touch of Death (Touch of Death #1)Ashes and Ice (Book #1)Me, Him, Them and ItPivot Point (Pivot Point, #1)The Different GirlMILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)The Art of WishingPretty Dark NothingThe Collector (Dante Walker, #1)

The rest of my list can be found on my Goodreads account here. So, what do you think?

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday #5

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Pivot Point

by Kasie West

Publication Date: February 12, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

So what is your Waiting on Wednesday selection?

Teaser Tuesdays #1

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
 Grab your current read

• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser:

"“You must have hit your head pretty hard,” she said, laughing again.

“Don’t be a jerk,” said Jack. “You don’t know what she saw.”
“I’m sure she didn’t see a dolphin. In fact, I’d bet my life on it. Even if one could find a way to get here.”
-Lies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown pg 76

Onyx (Lux #2)

Title: Onyx (Lux #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Format Acquired: epub
Publication Date: August 14, 2012
Publishing House: Entangled Teen
IBSN: 1620610116


Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…


This is the second book in the series after Obsidian. The review for Obsidian can be found here.

I loved this book just as much as, if not more than the first in the series. I think the series has pulled me in and is never letting go. Onyx was breathtaking and very fast-paced. I finished in a night-literally. 

I loved the fact that Katy's personally has grown and she is now blossoming into a more dynamic and personable character. Blake is introduced in this book, and even though he was made to be into a good guy, I did not trust him at all. I didn't really like his character, but I did like the twists behind his character. Daemon was just as swoon-worthy as before. I honestly don't see how he couldn't be. Also, look at the cover to the novel. Beautiful isn't he? Enough about Daemon though, the characters were all so... amazing. I could identify with each and every one of them and I really enjoyed that.

Overall, this book is amazing. I don't really know what I am going to do when the series ends. I am really glad to have been able to find out about this series and I am really excited to see where this series carries me. Maybe all the way to another planet..


Monday, December 17, 2012

Obsidian (Lux #1)

Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Format Acquired: epub
Publication Date: May 8, 2012
Publishing House: Entangled Teen
IBSN: 1620610078


Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don't kill him first, that is.


I can't even begin to describe how much I loved this book. It was seriously one of the best books I have ever read. I don't know if it is because of the fact that I used to love the show Roswell, and it reminded me so much of those days or it was because it was just that good. I am going to go with a mixture of both.

The main character is Katy, who is a fireball, and she reminded me so much of myself that I just fell in love with her character. She is an avid reader and has her own book review site, she's nice to everyone but something about Daemon brings out her bad side. He is so mean to her, but I love it. There were some scenes in the book that my heart was literally breaking for her, and I don't feel that often when I read books unless I can really relate to the character  I felt I was her. I loved Daemon's sister Dee, she just tries so hard to be nice and actually like a human. Katy never really understands why no one that knows Dee likes her. Katy really does try though.

I really liked the concept of aliens, it was so different from any other book I have read. There were some swoon worthy moments, and I really loved the love-hate relationship between Daemon and Katy. Overall, this book is getting a whooping five owls. I loved it!


You can find Obsidian at Goodreads.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Elixir Bound

Title: Elixir Bound
Author: Katie L. Carroll
Format Acquired: pdf from author for honest review
Publication Date: August 31, 2012
Publishing House: Muse It Up Publishing
IBSN: 978-1-77127-140-0

Katora Kase is next in line to take over as guardian to a secret and powerful healing Elixir. Now she must journey into the wilds of Faway Forest to find the ingredient that gives the Elixir its potency. Even though she has her sister and brother, an old family friend, and the handsome son of a mapmaker as companions, she feels alone. It is her decision alone whether or not to bind herself to the Elixir to serve and protect it until it chooses a new guardian. The forest hosts many dangers, including wicked beings that will stop at nothing to gain power, but the biggest danger Katora may face is whether or not to open up her heart to love.

This book was... interesting to say the least. It was completely different from anything I have ever read, and that is saying something. It wasn't different in a bad way, it was just a whole new fantasy world. It was completely new. The problem I had connecting with it was because it was so different. The world depicted in the novel was so unique from the Earth we know I had a hard time keeping up with it. Don't get me wrong, I did like the story but I was so focused on the bits that just didn't make sense to me that I became a bit distracted to say the least.

I have to say though that I loved the characters. I felt a special connection to each and every one of them, if I hadn't I don't think I would have read the book. My favorite character was Katora because she was strong willed, and wanted to do what was best for everyone. She even put love on hold just so that she could complete her quest for everyone else. I also surprisingly liked her indecisiveness because I would have been the same way, and I love when I can relate to the main character. I also loved Kylene because she was just so sweet. This novel really benefited from her personality. 

Overall, I did enjoy the novel even though at times the setting did catch me off balance. I would recommend this novel to anyone seeking a YA fantasy novel with a certain setting/imagery uniqueness

About the author:
Katie Carroll began writing after her 16-year-old sister unexpectedly passed away. Writing was a way for Katie to help her sister live on in the pages of a story. It also made her realize that she wanted to pursue writing as a career. In addition to penning novels for teens and kids, she edits puzzle magazines, plays soccer, and collects signed copies of books. Katie lives in Connecticut with her husband and son.

Overall Rating:

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


by Imogen Howson

Publication Date: June 11, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Elissa used to have it all: looks, popularity, and a bright future.
But for the last three years, she’s been struggling with terrifying visions, phantom pains, and mysterious bruises that appear out of nowhere. Finally, she’s promised a cure: minor surgery to burn out the overactive area of her brain. But on the eve of the procedure, she discovers the shocking truth behind her hallucinations: she’s been seeing the world through another girl’s eyes.
Elissa follows her visions, and finds a battered, broken girl on the run. A girl—Lin—who looks exactly like Elissa, down to the matching bruises. The twin sister she never knew existed.
Now, Elissa and Lin are on the run from a government who will stop at nothing to reclaim Lin and protect the dangerous secrets she could expose—secrets that would shake the very foundation of their world.

So what is your Waiting on Wednesday selection?