Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Debut Author Challenge 2013

I will be participating in the Debut Author Challenge for 2013. You can find this challenge here.

This challenge consists of reading and reviewing books in the YA genre that are written by Debut YA authors. I must read and review at least 12 to complete this goal. I already have a running list of the first twelve I will read and review and these are:

ReaperPower (The Descendant Trilogy #1)Touch of Death (Touch of Death #1)Ashes and Ice (Book #1)Me, Him, Them and ItPivot Point (Pivot Point, #1)The Different GirlMILA 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)The Art of WishingPretty Dark NothingThe Collector (Dante Walker, #1)

The rest of my list can be found on my Goodreads account here. So, what do you think?

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday #5

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Pivot Point

by Kasie West

Publication Date: February 12, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

So what is your Waiting on Wednesday selection?

Teaser Tuesdays #1

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
 Grab your current read

• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser:

"“You must have hit your head pretty hard,” she said, laughing again.

“Don’t be a jerk,” said Jack. “You don’t know what she saw.”
“I’m sure she didn’t see a dolphin. In fact, I’d bet my life on it. Even if one could find a way to get here.”
-Lies Beneath by Anne Greenwood Brown pg 76

Onyx (Lux #2)

Title: Onyx (Lux #2)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Format Acquired: epub
Publication Date: August 14, 2012
Publishing House: Entangled Teen
IBSN: 1620610116


Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…


This is the second book in the series after Obsidian. The review for Obsidian can be found here.

I loved this book just as much as, if not more than the first in the series. I think the series has pulled me in and is never letting go. Onyx was breathtaking and very fast-paced. I finished in a night-literally. 

I loved the fact that Katy's personally has grown and she is now blossoming into a more dynamic and personable character. Blake is introduced in this book, and even though he was made to be into a good guy, I did not trust him at all. I didn't really like his character, but I did like the twists behind his character. Daemon was just as swoon-worthy as before. I honestly don't see how he couldn't be. Also, look at the cover to the novel. Beautiful isn't he? Enough about Daemon though, the characters were all so... amazing. I could identify with each and every one of them and I really enjoyed that.

Overall, this book is amazing. I don't really know what I am going to do when the series ends. I am really glad to have been able to find out about this series and I am really excited to see where this series carries me. Maybe all the way to another planet..


Monday, December 17, 2012

Obsidian (Lux #1)

Title: Obsidian (Lux #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Format Acquired: epub
Publication Date: May 8, 2012
Publishing House: Entangled Teen
IBSN: 1620610078


Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I'd pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring.... until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something...unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon's touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I'm getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don't kill him first, that is.


I can't even begin to describe how much I loved this book. It was seriously one of the best books I have ever read. I don't know if it is because of the fact that I used to love the show Roswell, and it reminded me so much of those days or it was because it was just that good. I am going to go with a mixture of both.

The main character is Katy, who is a fireball, and she reminded me so much of myself that I just fell in love with her character. She is an avid reader and has her own book review site, she's nice to everyone but something about Daemon brings out her bad side. He is so mean to her, but I love it. There were some scenes in the book that my heart was literally breaking for her, and I don't feel that often when I read books unless I can really relate to the character  I felt I was her. I loved Daemon's sister Dee, she just tries so hard to be nice and actually like a human. Katy never really understands why no one that knows Dee likes her. Katy really does try though.

I really liked the concept of aliens, it was so different from any other book I have read. There were some swoon worthy moments, and I really loved the love-hate relationship between Daemon and Katy. Overall, this book is getting a whooping five owls. I loved it!


You can find Obsidian at Goodreads.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Elixir Bound

Title: Elixir Bound
Author: Katie L. Carroll
Format Acquired: pdf from author for honest review
Publication Date: August 31, 2012
Publishing House: Muse It Up Publishing
IBSN: 978-1-77127-140-0

Katora Kase is next in line to take over as guardian to a secret and powerful healing Elixir. Now she must journey into the wilds of Faway Forest to find the ingredient that gives the Elixir its potency. Even though she has her sister and brother, an old family friend, and the handsome son of a mapmaker as companions, she feels alone. It is her decision alone whether or not to bind herself to the Elixir to serve and protect it until it chooses a new guardian. The forest hosts many dangers, including wicked beings that will stop at nothing to gain power, but the biggest danger Katora may face is whether or not to open up her heart to love.

This book was... interesting to say the least. It was completely different from anything I have ever read, and that is saying something. It wasn't different in a bad way, it was just a whole new fantasy world. It was completely new. The problem I had connecting with it was because it was so different. The world depicted in the novel was so unique from the Earth we know I had a hard time keeping up with it. Don't get me wrong, I did like the story but I was so focused on the bits that just didn't make sense to me that I became a bit distracted to say the least.

I have to say though that I loved the characters. I felt a special connection to each and every one of them, if I hadn't I don't think I would have read the book. My favorite character was Katora because she was strong willed, and wanted to do what was best for everyone. She even put love on hold just so that she could complete her quest for everyone else. I also surprisingly liked her indecisiveness because I would have been the same way, and I love when I can relate to the main character. I also loved Kylene because she was just so sweet. This novel really benefited from her personality. 

Overall, I did enjoy the novel even though at times the setting did catch me off balance. I would recommend this novel to anyone seeking a YA fantasy novel with a certain setting/imagery uniqueness

About the author:
Katie Carroll began writing after her 16-year-old sister unexpectedly passed away. Writing was a way for Katie to help her sister live on in the pages of a story. It also made her realize that she wanted to pursue writing as a career. In addition to penning novels for teens and kids, she edits puzzle magazines, plays soccer, and collects signed copies of books. Katie lives in Connecticut with her husband and son.

Overall Rating:

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


by Imogen Howson

Publication Date: June 11, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Elissa used to have it all: looks, popularity, and a bright future.
But for the last three years, she’s been struggling with terrifying visions, phantom pains, and mysterious bruises that appear out of nowhere. Finally, she’s promised a cure: minor surgery to burn out the overactive area of her brain. But on the eve of the procedure, she discovers the shocking truth behind her hallucinations: she’s been seeing the world through another girl’s eyes.
Elissa follows her visions, and finds a battered, broken girl on the run. A girl—Lin—who looks exactly like Elissa, down to the matching bruises. The twin sister she never knew existed.
Now, Elissa and Lin are on the run from a government who will stop at nothing to reclaim Lin and protect the dangerous secrets she could expose—secrets that would shake the very foundation of their world.

So what is your Waiting on Wednesday selection?

Friday, November 30, 2012

Reaping Me Softly

Title: Reaping Me Softly
Author: Kate Evangelista
Format Acquired: epub
Publication Date: October 30, 2012
Publishing House: Omnific Publishing
IBSN: 9781623429119

Ever since a near-death-experience on the operating table, seventeen-year-old Arianne Wilson can see dead people. Just as she’s learned to accept her new-found talents, she discovers that the boy she’s had a crush on since freshman year, Niko Clark, is a Reaper.

At last they have something in common, but that doesn’t mean life is getting any easier. All while facing merciless bullying from the most powerful girl in school, Arianne’s world is turned upside down after Niko accidentally reaps the soul of someone she loves. This sends them both into a spiral that threatens to end Arianne’s life. But will Niko break his own Reaper’s code to save her? And what would the consequences be if he did?

This book was my first ever adventure into the world of reaper YA literature. I had never read a book with reapers in it before, so I was intrigued when I read the summary. But mostly, the cover was what caught my attention in the first place. It is beautiful, and so is the story contained within.

The novel tells the story of Ari, a girl who can see souls, and Niko, a reaper. Ari's story centers around her sick sister and her undeniable crush on Niko Clark. There is also another character named Darla, the queen bee of the school, who relentlessly bullies Arianne on a daily basis for some secret reason. The characters were beautifully drawn and were very dynamic. There were a few times where the story became unrealistically gushy because of Arianne's crush on Niko, but I got over it because I remember how it felt to have a crush in high school and then they finally noticed. I understood how she felt, and I like to see that in a novel. If I can't relate to the characters I have a hard time getting into the story, but this was not a problem in Reaping Me Softly.

I wasn't sure what to rate this book after I read it, because I loved it right up until the very end. I then proceeded to hate it and if I had an actual copy of it in my hands I would have then proceeded to throw it straight across the room. That was how much I despised the end. I have hope though because this is the beginning of a trilogy so I am hoping that the next book will fix what has been broken, and if it doesn't, well let's just say I will be highly disappointed and very angry. 

Overall Rating:

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Of Light and Darkness

Title: Of Light and Darkness: The Vampire's Daughter
Author: Shayne Leighton
Format Acquired: Paperback copy purchased from author
Publication Date: June 28, 2011
Publishing House: Decadent Publishing
IBSN: 1613330316

When one human stands before an army of impossible obstacles, the likelihood of overcoming them in this coming-of-age modern fairytale may result in war between light and darkness.

Abandoned as an infant in Prague, naive and strong-willed Charlotte Ruzikova was raised by one of the last Vampires left alive. As a human, she knows no other home than the one nestled deep in the woods of Eastern Europe, where Witches drew spells of enchantment, Phasers threw tea parties, and Elves are the closest in kin. Charlotte has lived her life in the dark with her Guardian, content to having him to herself and reveling in his attention, until she's realizes she wants more...

Resident medical doctor and Vampire, Valek Ruzik fears the day his ward would come of age and blossom into a fine woman, and he is forced to confront his own motives as time is of the essence once his past catches up to him, and their lives become endangered...

As genocide and war threatens their secret society, the dictator in power is ready to wipe out Valek's race, but Charlotte will not allow that to happen. Fighting for the only one she's ever loved and truly believed in, she will do whatever it takes to save their love...before the sun comes up and light takes over.

I found this book to be quite refreshing. It was everything that I looked for in my reading, but with twists that were unexpected and exhilarating. I loved the fact that the vampires didn't sparkle, and did exactly what vampire should do, which is be a vampire. Shayne didn't try to make the vampires attractive to teenage girls, but they still seemed to be. I have always been attracted to the concept of immortal beings that are dark and misunderstood, but maybe don't really want to be understood. Shayne presented this concept in a brand new light. I have read numerous books on vampires and supernatural beings but I found this one to be the most unique out of all of them.

The imagery presented in this book is brilliant, I felt like I was in the Occult City with the characters in the book. The main character Charlotte was dynamic and became a little heroine in the end even if at times she was a bit of a damsel in distress. She knew how to hold her own, but she still liked the help of her love Valek. The only thing that really bugged me in the story was the premise of Valek being Charlotte's fatherly figure and then becoming a love interest. I soon moved past this little quirk because I felt that the rest of the plot made up for it. I also figured that this was just another one of those unique aspects of this book that I hadn't seen in others.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I am eagerly waiting for the next one. Will you join the Occult City?

Overall Rating:

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


by Marianne Curley

Publication Date: June 25, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Ebony has always known that she is different. Her violet eyes mark her out, and her protective parents have kept her in a gorgeous valley, home-schooled, safe from everything—almost as if she’s being hidden. But she’s changing: glowing, getting more and more beautiful, and stronger than anyone knows. Ebony can’t stay hidden for ever, and when she meets complicated, intense Jordan, something explodes inside her—something that can be seen from the heavens; something that changes everything. Ebony is a stolen angel, concealed on Earth. Now the heavens have found her, they want her back.

Fans of Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush Saga and L.A. Weatherly’s Angel series will adore Hidden. Full of irresistible romance and breath-taking suspense, this is a sensational start to a brilliant new series. Get ready to be swept away by this spellbinding story of eternal love.

So what is your Waiting on Wednesday selection?

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

The Dollhouse Asylum

by Mary Gray

Publication Date: October 8, 2013

A virus that had once been contained has returned, and soon no place will be left untouched by its destruction. But when seventeen-year-old Cheyenne wakes up in Elysian Fields--a subdivision cut off from the world and its monster-creating virus--she is thrilled to have a chance at survival.

At first, Elysian Fields,with its beautiful houses and manicured lawns, is perfect. Teo Richardson, the older man who stole Cheyenne's heart, built it so they could be together. But when Teo tells Cheyenne there are tests that she and seven other couples must pass to be worthy of salvation, Cheyenne begins to question the perfection of his world.

The people they were before are gone. Cheyenne is now "Persephone," and each couple has been re-named to reflect the most tragic romances ever told. Everyone is fighting to pass the test, to remain in Elysian Fields. Teo dresses them up, tells them when to move and how to act, and in order to pass the test, they must play along.

If they play it right, then they'll be safe.

But if they play it wrong, they'll die.

Can be found here at Goodreads.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Book Promotion- Mortem by J.J. Gonzalez

Rating: Not yet rated. 
Published: Nov. 07, 2012 
Words: 85702 (approximate)
Language: English
ISBN: 9781301465118

Short description

After being murdered, Edgar Blair sells his soul for a second chance to live. 

Extended description

Up until the moment he died, Edgar Blair was living a carefree life. Looking for a second chance, he sells his soul and ends up working for Death itself. While he figures out how to regain his soul, he carries out the tasks Death assigns him, fights his inner demons, and falls in love. 

This book can be purchased on Smashwords for $4.99. I read a bit of it, and if you like anything to do with action and the supernatural I would recommend checking it out!

Monday, November 19, 2012

A Shimmer of Angels

Title: A Shimmer of Angels
Author: Lisa M. Basso
Format Acquired: ARC from Netgalley
Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Publishing House: Month9Books, LLC.
IBSN: 0985029420

Sixteen-year-old Rayna sees angels, and has the medication and weekly therapy sessions to prove it. Now, in remission, Rayna starts fresh at a new school, lands a new job, and desperately tries for normalcy. She ignores signs that she may be slipping into the world she has tried so hard to climb out of. But these days, it’s more than just hallucinations that keep Rayna up at night. Students are dying, and she may be the only one who can stop it. Can she keep her job, her sanity, and her friends from dying at the hands of angels she can't admit to seeing?

I LOVED this book. I wasn't sure how I was going to like this book because it seemed to be a bit melodramatic with the newly released  insane hospital patient Rayna. It starts off that she has just been released from the SS crazy, also known as the hospital she has to go to after claiming to see the angels. Dr. G has been telling her that she is a schizophrenic and that the only way for her to get better is to know that the winged angels she sees are illusions, they aren't real. She even begins to believe this, and so she is released from the SS crazy  But, it turns out she isn't crazy after all and angels really do exist, and they are just as shocked to know that she can see them as she is to be able to see them. 

I felt for Rayna in this book. If she was scared or angry, I was right there with her. The author makes you very empathetic to Rayna's situation and I became very attached to Rayna very quickly. There were parts when I did become very frustrated with Rayna because I didn't want to her to be the damsel in distress and I felt that at times she seemed to be just very stupid at her situation in general. The one example of this was when her dad found out that she could still see the angels. I knew it was going to happen because of the events unfolding up until that, but I still felt for her in every moment. I felt that I was also being taken back to the SS Crazy on that stupid sunshine van. I suppose this was  a very good thing, because I became so enthralled with Rayna and the events unfolding that I needed to continue her story. I just could not put the book down. 

The other characters in the story were also very noteworthy and riveting. I loved Cam and especially Kade. I guess I just have a soft spot for the bad boys and their dark wings, pun intended. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that wants a good read to help them escape into an enchanting new world of angels. Pick up this book when it is released in January and you will not regret it, I guarantee it. 

Overall rating:

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Order of the Dimensions

Title: Order of the Dimensions
Author: Irene Helenowski
Format Acquired: PDF from author for honest review
Publication Date: September 14, 2012
Publishing House: self-published
ASIN: 9781105654442

When Jane Kremowski first began her graduate studies in physics at Madison State University in Wisconsin, little did she know where her work would take her. Now, she is embroiled in a multitude of dimensions all leading to different outcomes. She and her colleagues therefore must act wisely in order to take and keep away the Order of Dimension from falling into the wrong hands for the sake of her loved ones.

Order of the Dimensions was my first science fiction book that I have read in a very long time. I normally steer away from them, but the summary of this book intrigued me so I gave it a shot. I am very glad that I did! It starts off with Jane Kremowski, a physics graduate student with a secret. She has been secretly traveling the dimensions with her black box invention. Jane lost her parents a few years back in a car accident and with them her cousin was also affected mentally. Jane starts out at a conference for the introduction of their invention, but something goes very wrong and she ends up waking up in a new dimension with a whole new life and the world is very different.  

I loved the premise of this book... it's so different from anything that I have ever read. I did have a few issues with the writing style though. At first, I was taken aback by how the characters talked and the conversations went between everyone. It was a bit too detailed  Everything the characters said to each other had a description behind it, which I have found is not always necessary. In fact, I like to be able to guess what the characters are thinking and feeling in their conversations rather than be told the entire time. One example of this was "All right," Mike replied with a little reluctance in his voice." Most, if not all of the dialogue had descriptors of that nature attached to it. 

I was able to look past the writing and enjoy the book though. The book was actually a pretty quick read and I did enjoy reading it. I was fascinated by the idea of dimensions and our selves being different in every dimension. For example, Jane was a cop in one dimension, and married to Dr. Z in another. Dr. Z is the main protagonist in the story that causes all of the trouble for all of the characters. I found it interesting that he always seemed to be the bad guy in most of the dimensions, no matter what. I guess some people are just destined for evil no matter what.

Overall, I really did enjoy the book despite the few writing flaws in the dialogue.  I would give it four owls. 

Overall Rating:

Order of the Dimensions can be found on Amazon, Goodreads, and facebook