Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Owlet by Emma Michaels Blog Tour

Owlet (Society of Feathers, #1)

Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.
Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.

Emma MichaelsEmma Michaels is a cover artist and author of Owlet. As the founder of The Writers Voice blog ( she loves to connect authors and readers. Her love of blogging started when she created a review blog in 2009 ( which gave her the courage to finally submit her own novels to publishers.

Saturday, June 8, 2013

Charm & Strange [Book Tour Stop with Playlist and Review]

Charm & Strange

When you’ve been kept caged in the dark, it’s impossible to see the forest for the trees. It’s impossible to see anything, really. Not without bars . . . Andrew Winston Winters is at war with himself. He’s part Win, the lonely teenager exiled to a remote Vermont boarding school in the wake of a family tragedy. The guy who shuts all his classmates out, no matter the cost. He’s part Drew, the angry young boy with violent impulses that control him. The boy who spent a fateful, long-ago summer with his brother and teenage cousins, only to endure a secret so monstrous it led three children to do the unthinkable. Over the course of one night, while stuck at a party deep in the New England woods, Andrew battles both the pain of his past and the isolation of his present. Before the sun rises, he’ll either surrender his sanity to the wild darkness inside his mind or make peace with the most elemental of truths—that choosing to live can mean so much more than not dying.

Release date: June 11th 2013 Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin Order: Amazon

Wow... just wow. I was literally blown away by Charm and Strange. It held secrets so deep that there was no turning back once I started. I knew once the flashbacks started. I knew and I just couldn't put it down despite the ever growing presence of something sinister and so unimaginable lurking around the corner. I read this book in about three hours and stayed up til 1 am just to finish it even with class the next day. That is how intrigued I was by this book.

I think that halfway through the novel I realized what was going on, but like the main character I also couldn't accept, nor did I want to accept, the facts that were laid out right there in front of my face. I hoped and wished that I was just over analyzing the story and what I thought was happening, was not truly happening. I just wasn't sure that I could comprehend such horror, and the fact that I was voluntarily reading it.

 I never intentionally read or watch anything sad, ever. I believe that there is too much sad in this world already and if I want an escape, it should not be a somber one. This book is the exception to the rule. I found myself switching from so many emotions throughout reading this novel. Many of which included horror, denial, remorse, happiness, intrigue, sickness, and terrible sadness. The ending really got to me. Although I knew what was coming, I still denied it right up until the very end. I ended up bawling a good ten minutes after reading the last page. I truly wished that this novel really was as paranormal as the summary made it out to be, but I am also very happy that the summary is the way it is. Otherwise, I probably never would have read this book and that would have been a very bad mistake indeed. This is a story that needs to be told. It yearns to be told, and you need to listen. Take a chance with this one.
Suggested Playlist:
This is just a menagerie of songs that I feel fit the book. They aren't in order.

You're Not Alone- Saosin
The Kill- 30 Seconds to Mars
Dirty Little Secret- All American Rejects
Secrets- One Republic
Siren Song- Bat For Lashes
Pardon Me- Incubus
Animal- Ke$ha
I'm Sorry- Flyleaf

Stephanie KuehnStephanie Kuehn is a YA writer who grew up in Berkeley, California, which is a quirky sort of a place with a ton of wonderful bookstores. Her very first job was working in one of those bookstores, and she's been a freakishly avid reader for as long as she can remember. 
Stephanie's other passions include mental health advocacy, social justice, and sports of all kinds. She's currently living in Northern California with her family and their wild menagerie of pets.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, May 31, 2013

Feature and Follow Friday #3

Alison Can Read Feature & Follow

Q: What blogger would you most like to meet in real life? Tell us about him or her.

Liza from Life from a Lefty! She just seems to be incredibly awesome and we seem to have a lot in common! Go check her out. :)
Life From a Lefty

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe [Review]

The Sweetest Dark (The Sweetest Dark, #1)
Title: The Sweetest Dark
Author: Shana Abe
Format Acquired: Netgalley ARC
Publication Date: April 2, 2013
Publishing House: Bantam
IBSN: 0345531701

Summary from Goodreads:
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.” 
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

How do I even begin to describe this literally breathtaking novel? This book was incredible, point blank. I have never read a novel that was as whimsical, mystical, and taunting wrapped up all in one. The novel is set in the WWI era and starts out with Lora and her experiences in the orphanage and the mental institution. You see, Lora is not your typical human. In fact, she is hardly human at all. She is able to hear the mysterious songs of gold, and precious gems, and she has a daunting voice inside telling her all sorts of absurd things. Lora is special, which is seen from the very beginning. But, like all young adult novels, Lora is also a teenager. She is sent off the a pristine boarding school on scholarship away from the bombings in London. Here, she meets two very handsome, very mysterious boys. 

I was torn between these two boys. I wasn't sure which one I loved more, but either way I loved to love them. Jesse is the groundskeeper for Iverson boarding school and he is everything you would expect is a total swoon worthy character. He is handsome, caring, and just precious. Armand, on the other hand is a lot tougher. He definitely has a rough exterior, but he also holds secrets that must be protected by his hard shell. Both of them were quite the gentleman in one way or another.

Unlike most young adult novels, this ones writing went so much more in depth. It carried a whimsical quality that flowed like the wind on a clear summer night. Everything was written so delicately and precisely. I thoroughly enjoyed the writing style. Also unlike young adult novels, the ending to this one had a somber note to it. It was the perfect ending, because it was foreshadowed throughout, but it did not stop the tears in the least. 

I guarantee you will love this novel if you enjoy dragons, swoon worthy characters, and a bit of mystical storytelling. What are you waiting for? 

Shana AbeShana Abé was born in Texas. She spent much of her childhood living in Colorado, with a brief stint in Mexico as a foreign exchange student, and, at age seventeen, lived in Japan as a model. Throughout her childhood, Abé wrote, completing what she calls "The Silliest Romance Novel Ever" during her free time during modeling shoots. Her writing focused on romance, as those were the types of books that she most enjoyed reading.[1] She later attended college in Los Angeles, graduating with a degree in drama.
Her second novel, also a contemporary romance, took third place in a writing contest. She sent the book to several prospective agents, many of which responded with questions similar to "Nice voice — but what line are you writing for?" Unwilling to try to fit her writing into some of the rules that governed contemporary romances, Abé chose to concentrate on historical romances. For her first attempt at a historical romance, the newlywed Abé chose to tell the story of her own romance with her husband, set in medieval times. The manuscript was purchased by Bantam Books and published as A Rose in Winter.
Many of Abé's subsequent novels have also been set in the medieval time period. Abé chose the time period because of its "great sense of dichotomy....It inspires thoughts of grandeur, of courtly grace and chivalrous knights — but at the same time there's a gritty, raw aspect to the period that just cannot be denied."

Abé has received the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, and has been nominated six times for Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Awards, winning twice

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Book Blitz: Alpha Girl by Kate Bloomfield

Seventeen year old Rose Goldman is highly unpopular in the little town of Halfway. Ever since the 'attack' when she was a girl, people and animals have been afraid of her. She gets bullied in school, and called 'wet dog' because of the way she smells, despite being extremely hygienic. However, life takes a turn when a new teacher starts at Halfway High. Mr. Stone, the quirky and charismatic English teacher is twice Rose's age, but she feels an unexplainable pull towards him from day one. Despite her better judgement, Rose pursues a friendship with Mr. Stone, who seems unable to stay away from her. 
What is pulling this unlikely pair together?
Alpha Girl is the first book of the Wolfling Saga, and is not intended for audiences younger than 15 years of age, as it contains scenes of a sexual nature, and coarse language. Please do not read if you are easily offended.


Mr. Stone’s smile faltered. ‘I like my women to have a mind of their own – to be witty. Like you.’

My throat closed up. Like me?

‘You’re an amazing girl,’ he said suddenly.

His use of the word girl made my stomach twist painfully.

‘Am I?’ I asked.

‘Of course.’

‘A girl?’

He smiled knowingly. ‘An amazing woman,’ he corrected himself.

‘No one has ever told me that before,’ I said.

‘I don’t believe that,’ he smiled. ‘You’re clever, and beautiful, and damn witty.’

Mr. Stone’s jaw tensed as he realized what he was saying.

‘Beautiful?’ I asked, the word escaping as nothing more than a whisper.

‘Don’t you know?’ he asked.

My heart thundered as I stared at him. Oh please, my mind begged. Please tell me what is going on in that head of yours.

‘D-don’t I know what?’ I asked.

‘Don’t you know what you’re doing to me?’ He said as though I was torturing him.

‘What?’ My skin stung and my head swam with the possibilities.

‘Rose, I-’ He paused to collect his thoughts. ‘I’ve felt this … this pull towards you since day one. I can’t explain it.’

He didn’t need to explain it, because I felt it too. His eyes, his smile and his scent had me drawn in.

I placed a shaking hand over his, which was still on the steering wheel. He looked at our hands for a moment before allowing me to thread my fingers through his. I could feel his pulse in between each of my fingers.

Mr. Stone inhaled deeply. ‘Christ,’ he muttered, shutting his eyes tightly.

‘What’s the matter?’ I breathed.

‘That … that scent. The way you smell-’

I suddenly became very self-conscious. Bullies at school often accused me of smelling like wet dog. I sniffed my shirt, but I smelled perfectly normal.

‘What is it?’ I said defensively. ‘I showered this morning-’

Mr. Stone laughed, and I felt my cheeks burn with embarrassment.

‘No,’ he said with a small smile. ‘You smell amazing.’

‘I do?’

‘Absolutely. You always do.’

I never wore perfume, only regular home brand antiperspirant.

‘It makes me dizzy,’ he confessed. ‘It’s intoxicating.’

‘What do I smell like?’ I asked, rather flushed.

Mr. Stone licked his lips as though he could taste me in the air. ‘Sweet,’ he said.

My cheeks burned crimson, and I wished he would look at me. I couldn’t believe this was happening.

‘I want to kiss you so very badly, Rose,’ Mr. Stone said under his breath. ‘But I can’t … and it’s killing me.’

My heart hammered so loudly against my ribcage that I was sure Mr. Stone could hear it from where he sat.

Suddenly, I felt powerful. He wanted me … and it terrified him.

‘Mr. Stone,’ I breathed, but he still didn’t look at me. ‘Tom.’

A small groan escaped him as though his name leaving my lips was taboo.

‘Look at me,’ I said, my eyes fixated on him.

‘I can’t,’ he said, shaking his head. 

Now working full time as an independent author, Kate has published four novels, and two short stories.

Her fifth novel ‘Alpha Girl’ is a paranormal romance that explores a complicated a student/teacher relationship. It is due for release on April 1st 2013.

For more information about Alpha Girl, please visit:


Kate will be awarding an autographed copy of ALPHA GIRL to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour (US ONLY), so leave a comment here and then follow the rest of her tour here.

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Proximity by M.A. George [Review]

Proximity (Proximity, #1)
Title: Proximity
Author: M.A. George
Format Acquired: mobi for kindle provided for honest review
Publication Date: October 3, 2012
Publishing House: CreateSpace
IBSN: 1480016934

Summary from Goodreads:
Dr. Palta Capal would be a typical American career woman…if only she were human.

She has found her calling in this world as a physician. It’s an ideal outlet for her compassionate spirit...and unearthly healing powers.

Palta may spend her nights rereading Jane Austen novels, but she deliberately avoids pursuing her own love story. Human men — attractive as they may be — inevitably grow old and wither, leaving her to grieve in solitude. Frankly, no one has seemed worth the torment.

Enter Eric Moran, the intensely attractive and enigmatic new coworker on the scene. With his quiet confidence and warm smile, he manages to draw Palta’s attention. Little does she know that he, too, holds a secret…one that will propel them both into an escalating collision of two worlds.
Palta is just your average run of the mill doctor extraordinaire... but not really. She is indeed extraordinary but is not at all normal. She is an American born alien, so to speak. Palta and her family are not of this world, but they have come to love Earth as their own. After complications on their home planet, Palta's mom, dad, and sister escaped to planet Earth (Palta came a little later). Palta's family all have abilities, and she has the gift of healing. Although Palta's sister has found love, she has sworn off men due to their very short shelf life compared to her own. But, as a good love story would go, Palta just cannot resist the new guy at work. And this is where the story gets interesting.

Palta is a very strong willed individual and I admired her spunk and character very much. I also loved her sisters character as well. I thought the interaction between Eric and Palta was very cute, but I was not impressed by the insta love thing. Maybe it's just Palta's alien nature but I just was not feeling it at all. Don't get me wrong, I loved their relationship I thought they were perfect together, I just wish they would have taken it a little slower. Instead of falling in love in a matter of a day, maybe given it a week or two. I would ahve liked to see their interest in each other grow over time rather than quickly blossom. Nevertheless, they were adorable. 

Overall, I enjoyed this book and I am looking forward to the sequel! I will definitely have to check it out because I am so curious as to what is going to happen to the gang. If you enjoy scifi, or are just looking for something new to add to your young adult reading interests I would definitely check this out! It is an interesting read with a lot of potential for a fantastic series.


M.A. George M. A. George is part happily-married mother of two adorable children, part super top secret agent…Oops, probably just lost that job.

Writing is what keeps her up into the wee hours of the night. Fortunately, she has a lot of energy (Read: caffeine is her friend). She has a bit of an obsession with music (It does a fantastic job of tuning out rambunctious children while she attempts to focus).

She sincerely hopes people out there enjoy reading her work as much as she enjoys writing it. And if anyone hears of work for a super top secret agent, she’s now available (Discretion guaranteed…).


Monday, May 20, 2013

Girls Love Travis Walker Book Tour Stop

New Adult Contemporary

Date Published: 3/15/13

To nineteen-year-old high school dropout Travis Walker, women are like snowflakes--each one different, but beautiful in her own way. He can charm any girl he meets, and yet down deep he fears he'll always be a loser like his jailbird father. As the landlady threatens to evict him and his sick mother, Travis 
takes a job he hates and spends his evenings picking up girls at a nearby night spot. When he enlists in a teen program at the local fire station, he finds out he’s amazing at it. Then he meets the smoking hot Kat Summers, enlists Kat’s friend Zoey to help him woo her, and falls in love for the first time ever.But he keeps the details of his life secret. His girl will never love him back if she knows the truth about him….

This novel tugged at my heartstrings... literally. I went into this book thinking it was going to be your typical bad boy falls for girl scenario, but boy was I wrong. This book touched on subjects that I never thought I would find myself reading. Travis Walker has had his fair share of bad luck, in fact it seems like it is never ending.  He is a bad boy; he sleeps around, he drinks underage, he is a high school dropout, and he is dirt poor. Travis finds himself in some very bad situations that are not his fault in the least. He just happened to be born to the wrong family and the wrong circumstances. But, past his shell and is hot exterior, he is a really good guy. I found myself rooting for him throughout the book and I felt for him when he just could not catch a break no matter how hard he tried. I also found myself falling in love with him along with the main girl.

As for the main characters, I of course loved Travis Walker, but I also found myself enjoying Zoey's character as well. At first she was a bit of a brat, and I get why now, but I am glad that she blossomed into a perfect character. She was just right for the story. I won't really comment on Kat or Zoey's boyfriend because I just did not like their characters, which I am sure was the point. Either way, Travis and Zoey were definitely my favorites.

I know that I have written a few five star reviews, and most of them were deserving, but this book I tried to find flaws and I just couldn't. I enjoyed the story-line  the writing, and the characters. I found myself engrossed in Travis Walkers story and I just could not get enough. The only thing that I could possibly find wrong with this story is that I wanted more. I just could not get enough at the end when I was rooting for his happy ending. This book completely and wholeheartedly deserves the five owls that I am giving it.


Anne Pfeffer is the author of Any Other Night and The Wedding Cake Girl.  She lives in Los Angeles, CA.

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

The Forgotten Ones Book Blast

The Forgotten Ones

The Danaan Trilogy

Book One

is now available exclusively on Amazon!

And until May 19 it's only 99 cents!

Allison O'Malley's plan is to go to grad school so she can get a good job and take care of her schizophrenic mother. She has carefully closed herself off from everything else, including a relationship with Ethan, who she's been in love with for as long as she can remember.

What is definitely not part of the plan is the return of her long-lost father, who claims he can bring Allison's mother back from the dark place her mind has gone. Allison doesn't trust her father, so why would she believe his stories about a long forgotten Irish people, the Tuatha de Danaan? But truths have a way of revealing themselves. Secrets will eventually surface. And Allison must learn to set aside her plan and work with her father if there is even a small chance it could restore her mother's sanity.

About Laura Howard

Laura Howard lives in New Hampshire with her husband and four children. Her obsession with books began at the age of 6 when she got her first library card. Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley High and other girly novels were routinely devoured in single sittings. Books took a backseat to diapers when she had her first child. It wasn’t until the release of a little novel called Twilight, 8 years later, that she rediscovered her love of fiction. Soon after, her own characters began to make themselves known. The Forgotten Ones is her first published novel.

Connect with Laura:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Awakenings Blog Tour Stop

Awakenings (Elemental Series #1)
by Hally Willmott 
Release Date: May 2013
From Limitless Publishing

Summary from Goodreads: 
When sixteen-year old Jacey Adison’s parents tell her they must move again, she has never questioned their life style. Until now. When Jacey was two, her parents fled the protection of their birthplace, the mystical dimension of Nemele. Leaving was the only solution her parents believed might allow them to keep their family together and alive.

The Adisons have been running from a sect of iniquitous beings from Nemele who covet Jacey. Her parents have repressed their adversaries’ relentless tracking efforts by not utilizing their own mystical powers. They have chosen to conceal themselves within the only realm they knew they’d be able to survive. They are living under their self-imposed powerless sanctions on Earth, which constitutes the nineteenth nation of Nemele. 

Her parents have never revealed their true identities to Jacey, consequently keeping her true lineage and unique birthright from her. Jacey’s family has pretended to be non-magical humans as a ploy to prevent an ancient omnipotent entity from killing more innocent beings in its relentless quest to possess Jacey.

Born as an anomaly, Jacey possesses rare abilities that both virtuous and corrupt entities seek to use as their own. Should either side prevail, Jacey may be the saviour or downfall of every world within Nemele’s domains. Blindly thrust into life and death situations, Jacey learns of her true powers within her dreaming and conscious states.

Welcome to my stop on the Shadow Chaser blog tour hosted by YA Bound.  Click HERE to see the full blog tour schedule!

Want to be immersed in a world full of powers and entities that you have never even imagined? Pick up this book! It was full of twists and turns that I just couldn't stop reading. There was some insta love thrown in and a few elements of the typical teen paranormal romance, but otherwise this book is a must read. It is unique, a bit quirky, and fascinating. I enjoyed every minute of it!

Disclaimer: This book was given to me for an honest review

-Signed paperback copy and $10 amazon gift card (US only) 
-ebook and $10 amazon gift card (INT)

Buy Links:

Author for Limitless Publishing. Wife, mother and Police Officer:)