Friday, November 30, 2012

Reaping Me Softly

Title: Reaping Me Softly
Author: Kate Evangelista
Format Acquired: epub
Publication Date: October 30, 2012
Publishing House: Omnific Publishing
IBSN: 9781623429119

Ever since a near-death-experience on the operating table, seventeen-year-old Arianne Wilson can see dead people. Just as she’s learned to accept her new-found talents, she discovers that the boy she’s had a crush on since freshman year, Niko Clark, is a Reaper.

At last they have something in common, but that doesn’t mean life is getting any easier. All while facing merciless bullying from the most powerful girl in school, Arianne’s world is turned upside down after Niko accidentally reaps the soul of someone she loves. This sends them both into a spiral that threatens to end Arianne’s life. But will Niko break his own Reaper’s code to save her? And what would the consequences be if he did?

This book was my first ever adventure into the world of reaper YA literature. I had never read a book with reapers in it before, so I was intrigued when I read the summary. But mostly, the cover was what caught my attention in the first place. It is beautiful, and so is the story contained within.

The novel tells the story of Ari, a girl who can see souls, and Niko, a reaper. Ari's story centers around her sick sister and her undeniable crush on Niko Clark. There is also another character named Darla, the queen bee of the school, who relentlessly bullies Arianne on a daily basis for some secret reason. The characters were beautifully drawn and were very dynamic. There were a few times where the story became unrealistically gushy because of Arianne's crush on Niko, but I got over it because I remember how it felt to have a crush in high school and then they finally noticed. I understood how she felt, and I like to see that in a novel. If I can't relate to the characters I have a hard time getting into the story, but this was not a problem in Reaping Me Softly.

I wasn't sure what to rate this book after I read it, because I loved it right up until the very end. I then proceeded to hate it and if I had an actual copy of it in my hands I would have then proceeded to throw it straight across the room. That was how much I despised the end. I have hope though because this is the beginning of a trilogy so I am hoping that the next book will fix what has been broken, and if it doesn't, well let's just say I will be highly disappointed and very angry. 

Overall Rating:

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Of Light and Darkness

Title: Of Light and Darkness: The Vampire's Daughter
Author: Shayne Leighton
Format Acquired: Paperback copy purchased from author
Publication Date: June 28, 2011
Publishing House: Decadent Publishing
IBSN: 1613330316

When one human stands before an army of impossible obstacles, the likelihood of overcoming them in this coming-of-age modern fairytale may result in war between light and darkness.

Abandoned as an infant in Prague, naive and strong-willed Charlotte Ruzikova was raised by one of the last Vampires left alive. As a human, she knows no other home than the one nestled deep in the woods of Eastern Europe, where Witches drew spells of enchantment, Phasers threw tea parties, and Elves are the closest in kin. Charlotte has lived her life in the dark with her Guardian, content to having him to herself and reveling in his attention, until she's realizes she wants more...

Resident medical doctor and Vampire, Valek Ruzik fears the day his ward would come of age and blossom into a fine woman, and he is forced to confront his own motives as time is of the essence once his past catches up to him, and their lives become endangered...

As genocide and war threatens their secret society, the dictator in power is ready to wipe out Valek's race, but Charlotte will not allow that to happen. Fighting for the only one she's ever loved and truly believed in, she will do whatever it takes to save their love...before the sun comes up and light takes over.

I found this book to be quite refreshing. It was everything that I looked for in my reading, but with twists that were unexpected and exhilarating. I loved the fact that the vampires didn't sparkle, and did exactly what vampire should do, which is be a vampire. Shayne didn't try to make the vampires attractive to teenage girls, but they still seemed to be. I have always been attracted to the concept of immortal beings that are dark and misunderstood, but maybe don't really want to be understood. Shayne presented this concept in a brand new light. I have read numerous books on vampires and supernatural beings but I found this one to be the most unique out of all of them.

The imagery presented in this book is brilliant, I felt like I was in the Occult City with the characters in the book. The main character Charlotte was dynamic and became a little heroine in the end even if at times she was a bit of a damsel in distress. She knew how to hold her own, but she still liked the help of her love Valek. The only thing that really bugged me in the story was the premise of Valek being Charlotte's fatherly figure and then becoming a love interest. I soon moved past this little quirk because I felt that the rest of the plot made up for it. I also figured that this was just another one of those unique aspects of this book that I hadn't seen in others.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I am eagerly waiting for the next one. Will you join the Occult City?

Overall Rating:

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


by Marianne Curley

Publication Date: June 25, 2013

Summary from Goodreads:

Ebony has always known that she is different. Her violet eyes mark her out, and her protective parents have kept her in a gorgeous valley, home-schooled, safe from everything—almost as if she’s being hidden. But she’s changing: glowing, getting more and more beautiful, and stronger than anyone knows. Ebony can’t stay hidden for ever, and when she meets complicated, intense Jordan, something explodes inside her—something that can be seen from the heavens; something that changes everything. Ebony is a stolen angel, concealed on Earth. Now the heavens have found her, they want her back.

Fans of Becca Fitzpatrick’s Hush, Hush Saga and L.A. Weatherly’s Angel series will adore Hidden. Full of irresistible romance and breath-taking suspense, this is a sensational start to a brilliant new series. Get ready to be swept away by this spellbinding story of eternal love.

So what is your Waiting on Wednesday selection?

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

The Dollhouse Asylum

by Mary Gray

Publication Date: October 8, 2013

A virus that had once been contained has returned, and soon no place will be left untouched by its destruction. But when seventeen-year-old Cheyenne wakes up in Elysian Fields--a subdivision cut off from the world and its monster-creating virus--she is thrilled to have a chance at survival.

At first, Elysian Fields,with its beautiful houses and manicured lawns, is perfect. Teo Richardson, the older man who stole Cheyenne's heart, built it so they could be together. But when Teo tells Cheyenne there are tests that she and seven other couples must pass to be worthy of salvation, Cheyenne begins to question the perfection of his world.

The people they were before are gone. Cheyenne is now "Persephone," and each couple has been re-named to reflect the most tragic romances ever told. Everyone is fighting to pass the test, to remain in Elysian Fields. Teo dresses them up, tells them when to move and how to act, and in order to pass the test, they must play along.

If they play it right, then they'll be safe.

But if they play it wrong, they'll die.

Can be found here at Goodreads.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Book Promotion- Mortem by J.J. Gonzalez

Rating: Not yet rated. 
Published: Nov. 07, 2012 
Words: 85702 (approximate)
Language: English
ISBN: 9781301465118

Short description

After being murdered, Edgar Blair sells his soul for a second chance to live. 

Extended description

Up until the moment he died, Edgar Blair was living a carefree life. Looking for a second chance, he sells his soul and ends up working for Death itself. While he figures out how to regain his soul, he carries out the tasks Death assigns him, fights his inner demons, and falls in love. 

This book can be purchased on Smashwords for $4.99. I read a bit of it, and if you like anything to do with action and the supernatural I would recommend checking it out!

Monday, November 19, 2012

A Shimmer of Angels

Title: A Shimmer of Angels
Author: Lisa M. Basso
Format Acquired: ARC from Netgalley
Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Publishing House: Month9Books, LLC.
IBSN: 0985029420

Sixteen-year-old Rayna sees angels, and has the medication and weekly therapy sessions to prove it. Now, in remission, Rayna starts fresh at a new school, lands a new job, and desperately tries for normalcy. She ignores signs that she may be slipping into the world she has tried so hard to climb out of. But these days, it’s more than just hallucinations that keep Rayna up at night. Students are dying, and she may be the only one who can stop it. Can she keep her job, her sanity, and her friends from dying at the hands of angels she can't admit to seeing?

I LOVED this book. I wasn't sure how I was going to like this book because it seemed to be a bit melodramatic with the newly released  insane hospital patient Rayna. It starts off that she has just been released from the SS crazy, also known as the hospital she has to go to after claiming to see the angels. Dr. G has been telling her that she is a schizophrenic and that the only way for her to get better is to know that the winged angels she sees are illusions, they aren't real. She even begins to believe this, and so she is released from the SS crazy  But, it turns out she isn't crazy after all and angels really do exist, and they are just as shocked to know that she can see them as she is to be able to see them. 

I felt for Rayna in this book. If she was scared or angry, I was right there with her. The author makes you very empathetic to Rayna's situation and I became very attached to Rayna very quickly. There were parts when I did become very frustrated with Rayna because I didn't want to her to be the damsel in distress and I felt that at times she seemed to be just very stupid at her situation in general. The one example of this was when her dad found out that she could still see the angels. I knew it was going to happen because of the events unfolding up until that, but I still felt for her in every moment. I felt that I was also being taken back to the SS Crazy on that stupid sunshine van. I suppose this was  a very good thing, because I became so enthralled with Rayna and the events unfolding that I needed to continue her story. I just could not put the book down. 

The other characters in the story were also very noteworthy and riveting. I loved Cam and especially Kade. I guess I just have a soft spot for the bad boys and their dark wings, pun intended. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that wants a good read to help them escape into an enchanting new world of angels. Pick up this book when it is released in January and you will not regret it, I guarantee it. 

Overall rating:

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Order of the Dimensions

Title: Order of the Dimensions
Author: Irene Helenowski
Format Acquired: PDF from author for honest review
Publication Date: September 14, 2012
Publishing House: self-published
ASIN: 9781105654442

When Jane Kremowski first began her graduate studies in physics at Madison State University in Wisconsin, little did she know where her work would take her. Now, she is embroiled in a multitude of dimensions all leading to different outcomes. She and her colleagues therefore must act wisely in order to take and keep away the Order of Dimension from falling into the wrong hands for the sake of her loved ones.

Order of the Dimensions was my first science fiction book that I have read in a very long time. I normally steer away from them, but the summary of this book intrigued me so I gave it a shot. I am very glad that I did! It starts off with Jane Kremowski, a physics graduate student with a secret. She has been secretly traveling the dimensions with her black box invention. Jane lost her parents a few years back in a car accident and with them her cousin was also affected mentally. Jane starts out at a conference for the introduction of their invention, but something goes very wrong and she ends up waking up in a new dimension with a whole new life and the world is very different.  

I loved the premise of this book... it's so different from anything that I have ever read. I did have a few issues with the writing style though. At first, I was taken aback by how the characters talked and the conversations went between everyone. It was a bit too detailed  Everything the characters said to each other had a description behind it, which I have found is not always necessary. In fact, I like to be able to guess what the characters are thinking and feeling in their conversations rather than be told the entire time. One example of this was "All right," Mike replied with a little reluctance in his voice." Most, if not all of the dialogue had descriptors of that nature attached to it. 

I was able to look past the writing and enjoy the book though. The book was actually a pretty quick read and I did enjoy reading it. I was fascinated by the idea of dimensions and our selves being different in every dimension. For example, Jane was a cop in one dimension, and married to Dr. Z in another. Dr. Z is the main protagonist in the story that causes all of the trouble for all of the characters. I found it interesting that he always seemed to be the bad guy in most of the dimensions, no matter what. I guess some people are just destined for evil no matter what.

Overall, I really did enjoy the book despite the few writing flaws in the dialogue.  I would give it four owls. 

Overall Rating:

Order of the Dimensions can be found on Amazon, Goodreads, and facebook

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a weekly meme hosted and started by Breaking the Spine. It features a book weekly that is not out yet, and we are patiently waiting for. My "Waiting on Wednesday" spotlight book this week is:

 Touch of Death

by Kelly Hashway

Expected publication: January 15th 2013 by Spencer Hill Press

Jodi Marshall isn’t sure how she went from normal teenager to walking disaster. One minute she’s in her junior year of high school, spending time with her amazing boyfriend and her best friend. The next she’s being stalked by some guy no one seems to know.

After the stranger, Alex, reveals himself, Jodi learns he’s not a normal teenager and neither is she. With a kiss that kills and a touch that brings the dead back to life, Jodi discovers she’s part of a branch of necromancers born under the 13th sign of the zodiac, Ophiuchus. A branch of necromancers that are descendents of Medusa. A branch of necromancers with poisoned blood writhing in their veins.

Jodi’s deadly to the living and even more deadly to the deceased. She has to leave her old, normal life behind before she hurts the people she loves. As if that isn’t difficult enough, Jodi discovers she’s the chosen one who has to save the rest of her kind from perishing at the hands of Hades. If she can’t figure out how to control her power, history will repeat itself, and her race will become extinct.

Goodreads summary.

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

November "Out of the Owl's Nest" Review

Title: Sweet St. Lucia: An Erotic Island Affair
Author: B.J. Cherry
Format Acquired: ARC from author for honest review
Publication Date: October 27, 2012
Publishing House: self-published

When Molly Shutter travels to St. Lucia with her husband Paul, it is more of a business trip than a lover’s vacation. Paul had fallen in love with the island whilst there on their honeymoon twenty years ago. 

He has now bought a small resort on the island with intentions of expanding it. 
Molly is left lonely in her room and finds comfort in the arms of another man – David, a handsome, young waiter, who caters to her every need. 

His rich accent puts her in a trance and his spicy island flair is hard to miss. 
Her nights with David are hot and sensual. 

He takes her to new heights and soon, Molly begins to feel that maybe this is the end of her tremulous marriage. 

In a whirlwind of events, Molly Shutter finds herself wrapped up in a relationship filled with lust, love, lies and deceit. 

It is an exotic island affair that leaves everyone speechless, including Molly.

(Summary taken from Amazon)

I acquired a copy of this novelette through the author for a honest review, and to be honest I wan't expecting much. I'm not really into erotic novels, but going out of my normal reviewing box is what "Out of the Owl's Nest" is all about so I said, why not? 

I found this novelette to be refreshing. It was smothered in sexual tension and sometimes I find that when life gets tough you just need to indulge sometimes. I found this novelette to be just the cure for one of those days. The novelette was surprisingly well written and the text just seemed to flow. There weren't any times that I had to go back over a sentence to figure out what I was reading due to poor sentence structure. It was actually more well written than some full blown novels I have read before. 

The only thing that I would have changed about the story to make it five owls instead of four was to perhaps make the ending a bit more detailed  It seemed to be very rushed and almost too short for me. I wanted a more detailed ending, but the ending may have just been the exact ending most readers would hope for. Regardless of the ending I enjoyed the romance that was portrayed in the story and I was quite glad that the novelette featured love and it wasn't just a rushed sex story. Overall I would recommend it to those that would love a quick read that will leave them on the edge of their toes with a whirlwind romance. But remember, this story is definitely not for those under 18 years of age. Enjoy!


You can purchase this book as an ebook on Amazon here.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

New Things Coming to Owlnestly Reviews!

Hold tight guys, a new thing is coming to Owlnestly Reviews! Once a month I am going to shake it up a bit and review a novel that is completely different from what I have reviewed previously. These reviews will be called "Out of the Owl's Nest."

This said, I am up for anything! Sci-fi, history, Christian, non-fiction, and even erotica! If you don't want to read that odd, and seemingly out of place review I will totally understand. If you do, then by all means read away!

Thanks for following guys and and I hope you are up for anything and are as excited as I am for this! Comment away!

Sunday, November 4, 2012

Darkness Becomes Her

Title: Darkness Becomes Her
Author: Kelly Keaton
Format Acquired: epub
Publication Date: February 22, 2011
Publishing House: Simon Pulse
ISBN: 144240924X

Ari can’t help feeling lost and alone. With teal eyes and freakish silver hair that can’t be changed or destroyed, Ari has always stood out. And after growing up in foster care, she longs for some understanding of where she came from and who she is. Her search for answers uncovers just one message from her long dead mother: Run. Ari can sense that someone, or something, is getting closer than they should. But it’s impossible to protect herself when she doesn’t know what she’s running from or why she is being pursued.

She knows only one thing: she must return to her birthplace of New 2, the lush rebuilt city of New Orleans. Upon arriving, she discovers that New 2 is very...different. Here, Ari is seemingly normal. But every creature she encounters, no matter how deadly or horrifying, is afraid of her.

Ari won’t stop until she knows why. But some truths are too haunting, too terrifying, to ever be revealed.

(summary from Goodreads)

'Darkness Becomes Her' was one of those few books that I read that I like the premise of, but I felt that it could have been brought about differently. Now, don't get me wrong the book was really good, in fact I am planning on reading the sequel shortly, but the book lacked... something. Ari was one of those characters that I felt like I could identify with a little bit even though the author didn't give much insight of her character. The story started off by jumping into Ari finding out that her mother was at an insane asylum before she gave her up to the state. Ari then goes on a quest to figure out just what is wrong with her and why she is so attractive to guys. The book is also set in the future where New Orleans is a supernatural hub and it is drawing Ari into it. This premise of the story is like a lot of the YA supernatural stories, but it has a twist.
One of the things that bothered me about this book is that is had plot holes... and not just a few. It had a lot of holes in the story where it jumped from one scene to the next without any prior explanation. I would expect this in fanfiction or amateur writing, but not in a published novel. Maybe the author wanted to spare the reader the details of perhaps mundane actions, but it would have helped if the holes weren't as big in the story. Another thing that was a little hard to follow was that Keaton introduced not only supernatural beings, but also mythology in this book and then she mixed them all up. I think that perhaps this was a bit much because I not only had to follow the storyline of witches, shifters, and vampires but also the mythological gods as well. I liked it, but at the same time I feel like it was just a huge plot of thrown in supernatural beings with no real explanation.
Overall, I really did enjoy the book even looking past the plot holes and sometimes confusing character twists. I would recommend it to those that love the supernatural YA category but I would not recommend it to those that don't really follow/ want to follow the story lines of mythology.